Contact Us

Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins 2014 Indy 500

98th Indianapolis 500 Mile Race
Getty Images

Ryan Hunter-Reay passed Helio Castroneves on the final lap and won the 2014 Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday. Hunter-Reay and Castroneves were battling for the lead after a restart with six laps left, but the American claimed the victory with a decisive maneuver in the second-closest finish in race’s long history.

Hunter-Reay’s dramatic victory made him the first American driver to win the iconic race since Sam Hornish Jr. captured the checkered flag in 2006.

Marco Andretti finished third. Pole-sitter Ed Carpenter finished 27th.

Kurt Busch took sixth. The NASCAR veteran had plans to fly to North Carolina for the Charlotte 600 Sprint Cup race on Sunday night in an attempt to become the fourth driver to start both events on the same day, joining John Andretti, Robby Gordon and Tony Stewart.

98th Indianapolis 500 Mile Race
Getty Images

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Total Sports Wire quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!